Biosphere reserve of Südost-Rügen

Conservation status

Natura 2000 – a network for future

Biodiversity is a much-used term. Economic growth and property development have resulted in the loss of habitats, species, and, as a result, biodiversity. In response to this disturbing trend, the European Union called to life the Natura 2000 network of protected areas based on a combination of the Birds and Habitats Directives. Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania has been putting the guidelines proposed by the EU into practice since 2003. The Southeast Rügen Biosphere Reserve encompasses four areas under the Habitats and the Birds Directives, respectively (also called Areas of Special Protection, ASP). These areas partially overlap and were chosen such that their habitats, species composition and conservation status significantly contribute to overall European biodiversity protection.

In principle, European laws require that protected areas not be allowed to degrade beyond their status at registration. The condition of each protected habitat is monitored and assessed periodically. This monitoring can be conducted by the personnel from the biosphere reserve, volunteers or external contractors. Management plans, conflict analysis and funding initiatives help biosphere reserves achieve these conservation goals.

The following pages describe the areas within the Southeast Rügen Biosphere Reserve that fall under the Habitats and Birds Directives.